• About Us Find out more about us

About Us

  • 2014 03 24 16.06.54
  • H.WalkerTheSchoolOFLife 1
  • H.WalkerTheSchoolOFLife 22
  • 2014 03 25 20.57.37

WHAT WE DO

Opened in March 2014, The School of Life Melbourne is devoted to developing emotional intelligence through the help of culture. We address such issues as how to find fulfilling work, how to master the art of relationships, how to understand one's past, how to achieve calm and how better to understand and, where necessary change, the world.

Located at 669 Bourke St, in the heart of Melbourne, we are a Conversation Cafe serving delicious coffee, a carefully curated shop, and a purpose built classroom. 

The School of Life was founded in London in 2008 and is now open in Paris, Amsterdam, London, Melbourne, Antwerp, Belgrade, and Istanbul. We offer classes, workshops, retreats, intensives, secular sermons, and therapies in person. We also publish books, film our events and make and sell a range of objects & tools that will assist you in the quest for a more fulfilled life. We also run a consulting and training service for businesses.

The School of Life is a place to step back and think intelligently about central emotional concerns. You will never be cornered by dogma, but we will direct you towards a variety of ideas from the humanities – from philosophy to literature, psychology to the visual arts – ideas that will exercise, stimulate and expand your mind. You will meet other curious, sociable and open-minded people in an atmosphere of exploration and enjoyment.

LOCATION

The School of Life Melbourne is a Conversation Cafe, bookshop and classroom located at 669 Bourke St, in the heart of Melbourne's CBD.

We are located in the perfect spot for public transport with the 86, 96, 112 and 109 trams right outside our front door. We're also located 50m from Southern Cross Station.

Space Hire

The School of Life offers daytime, and occasionally evening and weekend hire of our classroom space, purposefully designed by the wonderful people at Fieldwork Projects. Please enquire here. 

PARTNERSHIPS

The School of Life and Dumbo Feather partner to help realise their joint mission in facilitating meaningful conversations that can guide, console and nurture our communities. Together we run a series of programs themed around impactful storytelling and living with passion and purpose.

 

CONTACT US

The School of Life Melbourne
669 Bourke St
Melbourne, VIC. 3000

Box Office +61 (0)434 492 669
Café & Bookstore +61 (03) 9077 8724
melbourne@theschooloflife.com.au 

Opening Hours

Monday to Friday - 8:00am - 4:00pm
Saturday - 10:00am - 2:00pm
Sunday - Closed

Check the calendar for class schedule

OUR PEOPLE

Kaj Löfgren
Director, TSOL Australia
kaj@theschooloflife.com.au

Eleanor Gammell
Director, Sydney
eleanor@theschooloflife.com.au

Megan Sheehy
Director, Melbourne
megan@theschooloflife.com.au

Hannah Gee
Business Director
hannah@theschooloflife.com.au 

Leanne McInerney
Business Program Producer
leanne@theschooloflife.com.au

Daniel Teitelbaum 
Head of Content
daniel@theschooloflife.com.au

Ellie Harris
Program Producer, Melbourne
ellie@theschooloflife.com.au

Kathryn Renowden
Retail Manager
kathryn@theschooloflife.com.au

Sean Connolly
Cafe Manager
sean@theschooloflife.com.au

Zoe Stark
Classroom Manager, Melbourne
zoe@theschooloflife.com.au

John Armstrong
Philosopher in Chief
john@theschooloflife.com