• About Us Find out more about us

About Us

  • Get in Touch Open Image2
  • Shop Interiorbanner 02
  • Therapy RoomFinal 02
  • Final Booksslideshow
  • Final Toolkitslideshow
  • FinalDan Pearson
  • Final Audienceslideshow
  • Final Audience 02slideshow
What we do
The School of Life is devoted to developing emotional intelligence through the help of culture. We address such issues as how to find fulfilling work, how to master the art of relationships, how to understand one's past, how to achieve calm and how better to understand and, where necessary change, the world.
Headquartered in London, we operate around the globe, delivering our services down a number of channels to suit your different needs. We offer classes and therapies in person. We also publish books, film our events and make and sell a range of objects & tools that will assist you in the quest for a more fulfilled life. We also run a consulting and training service for businesses. 
The School of Life is a place to step back and think intelligently about central emotional concerns. You will never be cornered by dogma, but we will direct you towards a variety of ideas from the humanities - from philosophy to literature, psychology to the visual arts – ideas that will exercise, stimulate and expand your mind. You will meet other curious, sociable and open-minded people in an atmosphere of exploration and enjoyment.

The School of Life is devoted to developing emotional intelligence through the help of culture. We address such issues as how to find fulfilling work, how to master the art of relationships, how to understand one’s past, how to achieve calm and how better to understand, and where necessary change, the world.

Headquartered in London, we operate around the globe, delivering our services down a number of channels to suit your different needs. We offer classes and therapies in person. We also publish books, film our events and make and sell a range of objects & tools that will assist you in the quest for a more fulfilled life. We also run a consulting and training service for businesses. 

The School of Life is a place to step back and think intelligently about central emotional concerns. You will never be cornered by dogma, but we will direct you towards a variety of ideas from the humanities – from philosophy to literature, psychology to the visual arts – ideas that will exercise, stimulate and expand your mind. You will meet other curious, sociable and open-minded people in an atmosphere of exploration and enjoyment.

Getting here

We can easily be reached by public transport.  Local bus routes include 168, 91, 59, 68, 7 and 188, as well as numerous buses which go along  Euston Road. We are 5 minutes' walk from Russell Square (Piccadilly Line) and 10 minutes' walk from King's Cross, Euston or Euston Square. There is an NCP car park underneath the Brunswick Centre (3 minutes on foot) and bicycle racks outside the shop.

Contact us

The School of Life
70 Marchmont Street
London
WC1N 1AB 
T: +44 (0) 20 7833 1010
E: info@theschooloflife.com

Opening Hours:
Monday - Saturday 12.00 - 18.00

Holiday Shopping Hours
Mon - Sat 12 - 6pm  
Final shopping day:
Tues 24 Dec 12 - 4pm
*Closed 25 Dec - 6 Jan*

Staff Directory

Alain de Botton
Chair

Morgwn Rimel
Director
morgwn@theschooloflife.com

Caroline Brimmer 
Head of Programmes
caroline@theschooloflife.com

Fiona Buckland
Head of Learning
fiona@theschooloflife.com

Gemma Tortella Procter
Curator of Public Programmes
gemma@theschooloflife.com

EJ Trivett
Programme Producer
ej@theschooloflife.com

Melissa Byrd
Website & Marketing Manager
melissa@theschooloflife.com

Jess Cotton
Editor, The Philosophers' Mail
jess@thephilosophersmail.com

Gabriela Jones
Producer, Video
gabriela@theschooloflife.com

Max Bye
Producer, Apps
max@theschooloflife.com

Will Brimmer
Programme Coordinator
will@theschooloflife.com

Ewen Haldane
Business Director
ewen@theschooloflife.com

Charlie Gent
Business Development Manager
charlie@theschooloflife.com

Emma Gordon
Product Development Manager
emma@theschooloflife.com

Sarah Jon Ross
Customer Services Manager
sarah@theschooloflife.com