• About Us Find out more about us

About Us

What we do
The School of Life is devoted to developing emotional intelligence through the help of culture. We address such issues as how to find fulfilling work, how to master the art of relationships, how to understand one's past, how to achieve calm and how better to understand and, where necessary change, the world.
Headquartered in London, we operate around the globe, delivering our services down a number of channels to suit your different needs. We offer classes and therapies in person. We also publish books, film our events and make and sell a range of objects & tools that will assist you in the quest for a more fulfilled life. We also run a consulting and training service for businesses. 
The School of Life is a place to step back and think intelligently about central emotional concerns. You will never be cornered by dogma, but we will direct you towards a variety of ideas from the humanities - from philosophy to literature, psychology to the visual arts – ideas that will exercise, stimulate and expand your mind. You will meet other curious, sociable and open-minded people in an atmosphere of exploration and enjoyment.

The School of Life is devoted to developing emotional intelligence through the help of culture. We address such issues as how to find fulfilling work, how to master the art of relationships, how to understand one’s past, how to achieve calm and how better to understand, and where necessary change, the world.

Headquartered in London, we operate around the globe, delivering our services down a number of channels to suit your different needs. We offer classes and therapies in person. We also publish books, create films and make and sell a range of objects & tools that will assist you in the quest for a more fulfilled life. We also run a consulting and training service for businesses. 

The School of Life is a place to step back and think intelligently about central emotional concerns. You will never be cornered by dogma, but we will direct you towards a variety of ideas from the humanities – from philosophy to literature, psychology to the visual arts – ideas that will exercise, stimulate and expand your mind. You will meet other curious, sociable and open-minded people in an atmosphere of exploration and enjoyment.

Watch our video to find out more. You'll find many more like this if you visit our  YouTube channel

To read about our Values & Vision, click here. To read more about what we believe, click here.

FIND US In london

Underground: Russell Square is a five-minute walk. King's Cross St Pancras and Euston are a 10-minute walk.

Buses: 10, 30, 59, 68, 73, 91, 168, 188, 205, 390, 476

Parking: There is an NCP Car Park around 4 minutes walk from the School.

 

About Concessions: we offer a 10% standard ticket price reduction on events under £50 for Students with valid ID, over-65's, un-waged and people with disabilities. To claim your discount please click here for the codes to use at checkout or please call us on 0207 8331010. Please note that we will check your ID for proof of eligibility on arrival at event.  

We are commited to supporting continued professional development, many of our work related classes have been CPD accredited. To learn more, please click here. We are proud to be part of the Knowledge Quarter, a partnership of organisations devoted to developing and sharing knowledge and ideas.

       




Contact us

The School of Life
70 Marchmont Street
London
WC1N 1AB 
+44 (0) 20 7833 1010

Shop purchases and queries:
shop@theschooloflife.com

Event bookings and queries:
classroom@theschooloflife.com

Therapy bookings and queries:
therapy@theschooloflife.com

Opening Hours:
Monday - Saturday 10.00 - 18.00

Staff Directory

LONDON

Vas Christodoulou
Head of London Programmes
vas@theschooloflife.com 

Jo Bradshaw
Programme Producer
jo@theschooloflife.com 

Will Brimmer
Programme Coordinator
will@theschooloflife.com

Raul Aparici
Programme Coordinator
raul@theschooloflife.com

BUSINESS

Ewen Haldane
Business Director
ewen@theschooloflife.com

Lucy Kaur
Head of Brand Development
lucy@theschooloflife.com

Aoife Keane
Head of Business Psychology
aoife@theschooloflife.com

Nick Adams
Senior Researcher
nick@theschooloflife.com

E: business@theschooloflife.com
T: +44 (0)207 278 7826

RETAIL

Emma Gordon
Product Development Manager
emma@theschooloflife.com

Hayley Roberts
Supply Chain & Logistics Coordinator
hayley@theschooloflife.com

Matt Harris
London Shop Manager
matt.harris@theschooloflife.com

CONTENT

John Armstrong
Philosopher in Chief
john@theschooloflife.com

Sarah Stein Lubrano
Researcher/Writer
sarah@theschooloflife.com

Jess Cotton
Editor, The Book of Life
jess@theschooloflife.com

YouTube enquiries
youtube@theschooloflife.com

MARKETING

Felicity Soper
Head of Marketing
felicity@theschooloflife.com

Sarah Byrne
Marketing Officer
sarah.b@theschooloflife.com

INTERNATIONAL

Kathryn Garden
Head of International Business Development
international@theschooloflife.com

FINANCE

Nilanthi Russell
Head of Finance
nilanthi@theschooloflife.com

Keith Shepherd
Finance Assistant
keith@theschooloflife.com

Charlotte Neser
Commercial Director

Finance Enquiries:
E: accounts@theschoolfoflife.com
T: 0207 833 8849